You are here

Federal Judicial History

The Center conducts research and produces resources on the history of the judicial branch of the federal government.  These resources include compilations of historical data on the courts, information about judges and judicial administration, as well as publications on federal judicial history. The Center also maintains a biographical directory of Article III judges from 1789 to the present, engages in outreach and education on federal judicial history, and works to promote the preservation of the history of the judicial branch.

Twitter Feed (@FedJudicialHist)

  • Congress reorganized the federal judicial circuits #OTD in 1842; created non-contiguous Fifth Circuit consisting of Alabama and Louisiana
    3 hours 3 min ago
  • @apark_PSU North Carolina did not ratify the Constitution until shortly after the Judiciary Act of 1789 was enacted. It was organized as a judicial district and assigned to the Southern Circuit in 1790.
    1 day 3 hours ago
  • #DYK? The Judiciary Act of 1789 established three circuits: the Eastern, Middle, and Southern; first numbered circuits not established until 1801; see circuit maps for each year:
    1 day 3 hours ago
  • Judge John J. Sirica of the U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia, who presided over the #Watergate cases, died #OTD in 1992
    2 days 3 hours ago
  • Isaac Hopkins Bronson, U.S. Rep. from NY, NY state judge, FL territorial judge, and first U.S. district judge for #Florida, died #OTD in 1855
    3 days 4 hours ago