You are here

Certified Questions of State Law: An Examination of State and Territorial Authorizing Statutes

Jason A. Cantone, Carly E. Giffin
June 3, 2020
Available Online Only

This report examines state and territorial statutes that authorize certification of questions of state law. Forty-nine states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, the Virgin Islands, and the Mariana Islands all have certified question statutes, which specify from which courts they can accept questions. The report identifies the general trends and considerable variations between the statutes.