You are here

Biographical Directory of Article III Federal Judges: Note on Advanced Search

Note on Searching for Sitting Judges by Appointing President or Party of Appointing President:

Two judges in the database are currently sitting on a court to which they were reassigned by statute rather than appointed by the president. Judges Gerald B. Tjoflat and R. Lanier Anderson III were appointed to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit by President Gerald Ford in 1975 and President Jimmy Carter in 1979, respectively. When the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit was established in 1981, both judges were reassigned by statute to the Eleventh Circuit, where they currently serve as senior judges.

Judge Tjoflat will appear in the results of a search for 1) sitting or senior judges appointed by President Ford or by a Republican president; and 2) sitting or senior U.S. courts of appeals judges appointed by President Ford or by a Republican president. Judge Anderson will appear in the results of the same searches substituting President Carter or a Democratic president. For the search specifying U.S. courts of appeals judges, the "select all" function must be used to select all U.S. courts of appeals. Judges Tjoflat and Anderson will not appear in the search results if one or more individual courts are selected, as the court to which they were appointed by the president (Fifth Circuit) is different from the court on which they currently sit (Eleventh Circuit).