## United States District Court District of Kansas

Carl E. D'Connor Chief Judge 122 U.S. Courthouse 812 Korth Seventh Street Kansas City, Kansas 66101

February 27, 1991

Mr. Duane R. Lee Chief, Court Administration Division Administrative Office of the United States Courts Washington, D.C. 20544

Dear Mr. Lee:

Enclosed please find a membership list of the Advisory Group appointed by the United States District Court for the District of Kansas pursuant to the Civil Justice Reform Act of 1990.

All of these members are practicing lawyers and are representative of the major categories of litigants in the federal court. Eleven of the sixteen members are active litigators in the fields of torts, contract and commercial law. They are evenly divided with respect to which side they usually represent. Two of the eleven are women lawyers. Professor Rich handles some heavy prisoner litigation. Mr. Waxse is involved in a number of ACLU and civil rights cases. Mr. Betts, a black lawyer, handles general litigation, including civil rights cases. Mr. Goudy is Deputy Chief Counsel for Boeing, one of our major party litigants. All of these representatives are intimately acquainted with federal practice and are well qualified to make a substantial contribution in assessing our present procedures and in developing a worthy expense and delay reduction plan for consideration by the court.

The Advisory Group plans to hold its first meeting within the next few weeks and proceed with its work in an expeditious manner. I wish to advise you that the District of Kansas is going to make every effort to be an "Early Implementation Court," with its plan in place by December 31, 1991.

Sincerely,

Earl E. O'Connor

Enclosure

cc: Mr. David Hopkins

Mr. Ralph L. DeLoach, Clerk

# UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT for the DISTRICT OF KANSAS

## Members of Advisory Group Appointed Pursuant to The Civil Justice Reform Act of 1990

Mr. Martin W. Bauer Martin, Pringle, Oliver, Wallace & Swartz Wichita, Kansas

Mr. Monti L. Belot Hall, Levy, Lively, DeVore, Belot & Bell Coffeyville, Kansas

Mr. Wendell Betts Frieden, Haynes & Forbes Topeka, Kansas

Mr. Jack Focht Focht, Hughey, Hund & Calvert Wichita, Kansas

Mr. Robert S. Goudy
Deputy Chief Counsel
Boeing Commercial Airplane Group (Wichita Division)
Wichita, Kansas

Ms. Ruth E. Graham Sloan, Listrom, Eisenbarth, Sloan & Glassman Topeka, Kansas

Mr. John J. Jurcyk, Jr. McAnany, Van Cleave & Phillips Kansas City, Kansas

Professor William J. Rich Washburn University School of Law Topeka, Kansas

Mr. Gerald W. Scott Law Office of Gerald W. Scott Wichita, Kansas

Mr. Roger D. Stanton Stinson, Mag & Fizzell Overland Park, Kansas see hit ours tim

Mr. Mikel L. Stout Foulston & Siefkin Wichita, Kansas

Mr. Lee Thompson United States Attorney (District of Kansas) Wichita, Kansas

Ms. Michaela M. Warden Spencer, Fane, Britt & Browne Overland Park, Kansas

Mr. David J. Waxse Shook, Hardy & Bacon Overland Park, Kansas

Mr. Thomas E. Wright
Davis, Wright, Unrein, Hummer & McCallister
Topeka, Kansas

Mr. Harold S. Youngentob Goodell, Stratton, Edmonds & Palmer

#### Non-Voting Members

Honorable Patrick F. Kelly United States District Judge Wichita, Kansas

Honorable G. Thomas Van Bebber United States District Judge Kansas City, Kansas

Honorable Ronald C. Newman United States Magistrate Judge Topeka, Kansas

### Reporter

Mr. Ralph L. DeLoach Clerk, United States District Court Wichita, Kansas

BY ORDER OF THE COURT

EARL E. O'CONNOR, Chief Judg