The Federal Judicial Center

The Federal Judicial Center is the research and education agency of the federal judicial system. It was established by Congress in 1967 (28 U.S.C. 620-629), on the recommendation of the Judicial Conference of the United States. The many specific statutory duties of the Center and its Board fall into a few broad categories:
By statute, the Chief Justice of the United States chairs the Center's Board, which also includes the director of the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts and seven judges elected by the Judicial Conference. The Board appoints the Center's director and deputy director; the director appoints the Center's staff. Since its founding in 1967, the Center has had ten directors. Judge Jeremy D. Fogel became director in 2011. He was appointed U.S. district judge for the Northern District of California in 1998, but has been resident in Washington, D.C. since becoming director. The deputy director is John S. Cooke.

The Director's Office is responsible for the Center's overall management and its relations with other organizations. Its Information Technology Office provides technical support for Center education and research. The Editorial & Information Services Office edits, produces, and distributes all Center print and electronic publications, and through the Information Services Office maintains a specialized library collection of materials on judicial administration.

The Education Division plans and produces educational programs, services, and resources for judges and for nonjudicial court personnel, such as those in clerk's offices and probation and pretrial services offices. Its products include travel-based and in-court programs that participants attend in person, Web-based programs and publications, streaming video programs, and manuals, monographs, and other print publications.

The Research Division undertakes empirical and exploratory research on federal judicial processes, court management, and sentencing and its consequences, often at the request of the Judicial
Conference and its committees, the courts themselves, or other groups in the federal system.

The Federal Judicial History Office develops programs relating to the history of the judicial branch and assists courts with their own judicial history programs.

The International Judicial Relations Office carries out the Center's statutory mission to provide information about federal courts to officials of foreign judicial systems and to acquire information about foreign judicial systems that will help the Center perform its other missions.

The Center makes many of its
publications available on the Web.

The Board of the Center
The Chief Justice of the United States, Chair
Judge Curtis Lynn Collier, U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Tennessee
Magistrate Judge Jonathan W. Feldman, U.S. District Court for the Western District of New York
Judge Kent A. Jordan, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
Judge Kimberly Jo Mueller, U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of California
Chief Judge C. Ray Mullins, U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Northern District of Georgia
Judge George Z. Singal, U.S. District Court for the District of Maine
Judge David S. Tatel, U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit
James C. Duff, Director of the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts

Senior Staff of the Federal Judicial Center
Jeremy D. Fogel, Director of the Federal Judicial Center, B.A. Stanford University; J.D. Harvard Law School.
John S. Cooke, Deputy Director of the Federal Judicial Center, B.A. Carleton College; J.D. University of Southern California; LL.M. University of Virginia.
Clara Altman, Director, Federal Judicial History Office, B.A. Washington University in St. Louis; J.D. Brooklyn Law School; Ph.D. Brandeis University.
Dana K. Chipman, Director, Education Division, B.S. U.S. Military Academy; J.D. Stanford Law School; LL.M. Judge Advocate General’s School.
Esther DeVries, Director, Information Technology Office, M.S. Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; Ed.D. Lehigh University.
James B. Eaglin, Director, Research Division, B.A. Grambling University; J.D. State University of New York at Buffalo.
Mira Gur-Arie, Director, International Judicial Relations Office, B.A. Cornell University; J.D. New York University.
Nancy Payne, Director, Office of Administration, B.S. National Louis University.

download the Center's 2016 Annual Report (PDF, 18 pp.)