

AMERICAN BAR ASSOCIATION

Section of Litigation 750 North Lake Shore Drive Chicago, Illinois 60611 (312) 988-5662

Reply to:

727 East 26th Street 78705 Austin, Texas

(512) 471-6319 Telephone: Telecopier: (512) 478-3202

DICTATED BUT NOT READ April 24, 1990

Paul Bschorr To:

> Ted Tetzlaff Louise LaMothe Jamie Gorelick

Loren Kieve Sid Leech Judah Best Ron Olson

Cindy Crouse

From: Michael E. Tigar

Re: S 2027

This is a followup to my earlier memorandum about my conversation with Chief Judge Charles Clark. I think that the objectives of the Biden bill are laudable, and reflect our concern with the difficulties in getting cases to trial and with controlling such things as discovery abuse in the civil process. The federal judges have a number of objections, but their most cogent one seems to be this: bill mandates procedures for the federal courts by statute in areas traditionally reserved for the rule-making process. I believe that the federal rules of civil procedure, at least as originally conceived, reflected a worthwhile partnership among judges, lawyers, and academics to shape federal practice. Every instance of congressional meddling with the rules has resulted in confusion and difficulty. am persuaded that the objectives of the Biden bill should be met through a rule-making process in which the three groups that produce the civil rules would participate.

I belive the legislation should create a rule-making body along the lines of the existing committees. addition, that body would report to the Supreme Court under the same procedure now used for the other procedural rules. The bill could--and in my view should--be quite detailed in its direction to the committee to come up with procedures for managing the flow of litigation eliminating the perceived abuses. In this way, the legislation would not

Paul | Bischort 1155 Avenue of the Americas New York, NY 10036 217/819-8604 VICE-CHAIR Therefore R. Tetzlaff (Ine IBM Plaza, Ste. 4200 Chicago, R. 60611 312/222-9150

Alichard E. Tigar 727 E. 26th Street Austin, 1x 78705 ABA/net; ARAB407 517/471-6319

CHAR-BLICT

` 8

ŝ

SECRETARY SECRETARY Ismin 5 Conflict 2555 M St., NW, Sec. 500 Washington, DC 20017 ABA/net: ABA4903 202/293-6400

BUDGET OFFICER David C. Weiner 800 National City T. 6th Building Claveland, CHI 44114 216/621-0150

SECTION DELEGATES TO HOUSE OF DELEGATES Judah Bont Washington, DC Ronald L. Ohum Los Angeles, CA

IMMEDIATE PAST SECTION CHAIR judah Best Washington, DC

COUNCIL MEMBERS Scott J. Atlas (1990) Houston, TX

Hon. John C. Coughenour (1991) Seattle, WA Faul H. Dannin (1992) San Francisco, CA

Lawrence J. Fox (1991) Philadelphia, PA Paincia M. Hynes (1992) Barry E. McNed (1992) Dallas, TX

Dianne M. Nast (1990) w. PA William G. Paul (1990) Bartlewille, OK John F.X. Peloso (1991) New York, NY

Nancy Schaefer (1990) Chicago, IL Charles M. Shaffer, pr. (1991) Atlanta, GA

Jean Maclean Snyder (1992) Chiraga, II Mark 21, Touhey Iti (1991) Winhington, DC Edward M. Waller, Jr. (1992) Tampa, EL

TORMLE CHAIRS John R. Tominson Seattle, WA nyamin & Civiletti Washington, DC COVERNMENTAL

REPRESENTATIVE Kenneth W. Starr Washington, DC

YOUNG LAWYERS DIVISION REPRESENTATIVE Allen W. Kimbrough DeAm, TX

ADJUNCT YEO Christopher I Griffin Yampa, FL LAW STUDENT DIVISION REPRESENTATIVE

Catandra Lewis Catamet City, II

ARA BOARD ON CUMMINIÓRS LIAISON Donald M. Haskell Chicago, IL STAFF

Director Cyrithia C. Crouse ABA/rest ABASS7 312/988 3665

Sandy C de Grija

Sme 5/9/92

Memo: S 2027 April 24, 1990 Page 2

wholly abandon the choice of priorities to the rule-making body, but could make a strong congressional statement about the need for reform. However, the details of reform should, in this as in other fields, be left to those most immediately concerned.

Please let me have your thoughts on this, so that we can begin to reach accord with the judges.

For your information, I attach a copy of the Judicial Administration Division position. I trust that the Division will be reconsidering, and that we can mover toward some sort of concensus.

MET/jjp
VIA FAX

bcc: Hon. Hayden W. Head, Jr.

Hon. George P. Kazen Hon. Charles Clark